Published on October 14, 2012

On Tuesday, October 9, PCS recognized the achievements and contributions of several of our members at our annual Awards Reception, at the Fairwinds Alumni Center on the campus of the University of Central Florida.  I was able to get a photo of each award winner, and here they are:

Richard House and Charles Kostelnick, Goldsmith Award winner

The Alfred N. Goldsmith Award recognizes Distinguished Contributions to Engineering Communication.  The 2012 winner of the Goldsmith Award was Charles Kostelnick (Iowa State University). Richard House (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology), program chair for IPCC 2012 and a member of the PCS AdCom, presented Charles with the award.

Muriel Zimmerman, winner of the Schlesinger Award, with George Hayhoe

Muriel Zimmerman (UC Santa Barbara and MIT) received the Emily K. Schlesinger Award for Distinguished Service to the Professional Communication Society.  George Hayhoe (Mercer University), the 2002 winner of the award and conference chair for IPCC 2012, was thrilled to present Muriel with the award.

Suguru Ishizaki receives the Joenk Award from Ann Watt, chair of the Awards Committee

The Rudolph J. Joenk Award recognizes the best paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Professional Communication during the previous year.  Suguru Ishizaki (Carnegie Mellon Univeristy) received the award from Ann Watt (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology).

Ron Blicq presents the award to Kirk St. Amant

The Ronald S. Blicq Award for Distinction in Technical Communication Education was a special event this year.  Ron Blicq, for whom the award is named, was in attendance to present the award to Kirk St. Amant (East Carolina University).  Both Ron and Kirk were pleased to meet each other and to share in this important moment.

Sandy Bartell (left), proceedings chair for IPCC 2012, and Jon Leydens, winner of the Lufkin Award

Jon Leydens (Colorado School of Mines) received the James M. Lufkin Award for Best Paper in the IPCC 2012 Proceedings.  The title of Jon’s paper is “What Does Professional Communication Research Have To Do With Social Justice?  Intersections and Sources of Resistance.”  Sandy Bartell, conference proceedings chair for IPCC 2012 and conference chair for IPCC 2013, gave Jon the award.

It is important, even as we recognize the achievements of long-standing members of PCS, to highlight the accomplishments of the next generation.  For that reason, PCS presented the award for Best Student Poster at IPCC 2012 to Justin Parmer (University of South Alabama) for his poster entitled “Attic vs. Asiatic, Explained through Apple Advertising.”  Nicole Amare (University of South Alabama) presented the award–way to go, Justin!

Nicole Amare presents the Best Student Poster Award to Justin Parmer

Although the winners of the awards were known in advance of the Awards Reception, there was one surprise.  George Hayhoe, who is retiring from the AdCom after 20 years of service to PCS, received a commemorative clock from Julia Williams (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology), PCS president.  In addition, the AdCom has created a new program to honor George, the Hayhoe Fellows, which will support the attendance at IPCC of a deserving graduate student each year. Congratulations to all the winners and to George!